CSU-Pueblo football team earns championship


CSU-Pueblo’s football team completed their regular season undefeated Saturday, Nov. 12, and is now the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference champions for the second time in the university’s history.

The ThunderWolves will play a second round playoff game will take place against either Saginaw Valley State University or the University of Minnesota-Duluth, depending on the winner of the first round game of the playoffs, according to CSU-Pueblo’s athletic website.

Their first home playoff game will take place at the Neta and Eddie DeRose ThunderBowl Nov. 26, at noon.

The game that determined their championship took place Saturday against Western New Mexico University 48-7.

Senior Jesse Lewis scored two touchdowns and ran 114 yards, and senior Jamaal Johnson scored a touchdown and ran for 87 yards. Junior Ross Dausin scored three touchdowns and ran for 118 yards, according to the website.