What's next for the T-Wolves

Midwestern State’s Keidrick Jackson, courtesy of

The next day, the NCAA awarded the T-Wolves with a No. 1 seed in Super Region Four in the NCAA Division II Football playoffs.

The Division II Football Playoffs consist of four Super Regions, with six teams per region. The top two
teams in each region receive a first round bye.

The T-Wolves, who are led by the unanimous RMAC Offensive Player of the Year, Ross Dausin, as well as the RMAC Coach of the Year, John Wristen will be looking for its first postseason win in school history.

In its previous NCAA Division II Football Playoff appearance, in 2011, the T-Wolves lost to the 2010 National Champions, the University Minnesota Duluth Bulldogs, 24-21 in the NCAA Second Round, at the Neta and Eddie DeRose ThunderBowl.

In the game, the Bulldogs sacked Dausin five times, and held the T-Wolves to 224 yards of total offense. The Bulldogs also rushed for 204 yards, and held the ball for 34 minutes, compared to the T-Wolf 26 minutes.

The T-Wolves will be playing the winner of the NCAA Division II first round match up between the Midwestern State University Mustangs (9-1, 7-1 Lone Star Conference) at the University of Indianapolis Greyhounds (9-2, 8-0 Great Lakes Valley Conference), Nov. 24, at the ThunderBowl.

The Mustangs, have not lost since Sept. 8, and have won nine straight. This will be the Mustangs fifth NCAA Division II Playoff appearance. The Mustangs were the No. 1 seed in Super Region Four in 2011.

The Mustangs have Division II’s No. 14 ranked offense, with 477 yards gained per game and is tied for No. 88 in defense, giving up 376 yards per game, according to

University of Indianapolis’ Klay Fiechter courtesy of

The Greyhounds, who began the season 0-2, like the Mustangs, have not lost a game since Sept. 8. The Greyhounds have also won nine straight, giving the program its first 9-win season in school history. The Greyhounds are making the NCAA Division II Playoffs for the first time in school history.

The Greyhounds have Division II’s No. 29 ranked offense, with 451 yards generated per game, and the No. 10 ranked defense, holding opponents to 285 yards per game, according to

Both teams also feature finalists for the 2012 Harlon Hill Trophy as the NCAA Division II College Football Player of the Year, Division II’s equivalent to the Heisman Memorial Trophy; junior running backs, Keidrick Jackson and Klay Fiechter.

Jackson played in all 10 Mustang games, finishing the season with 179 rushes for 1288 yards, a little more than seven yard per rush and 19 touchdowns.

Fiechter, who played in all 11 games for the Greyhounds, finished the season with 234 rushes for 1473 yards,
a little more than six yards per rush and 18 touchdowns. Fiechter also had 18 receptions for 177 yards and another touchdown.

Among those also making the Division II Football Playoffs were the Chadron State Eagles (9-2, 8-1 RMAC). The Eagles are the third seed in Super Region Four, playing at home against the West Texas A&M Buffaloes (9-2, 7-1 Lone Star Conference), Nov. 17.