Eight future CSU-Pueblo students receive full-ride


Colorado State University-Pueblo has given eight high-achieving Pueblo high school students the Kane Scholarship for 2009, which includes free tuition, mandatory fees and books.

“The scholarship is given to one student from each high school in Pueblo County and one student between Pueblo Technical Academy and Rye High School,” said Cora Zaletel, executive director of external affairs at CSU-Pueblo.

The Kane Scholarship foundation was created by the late Alexander and Wanden Matthews Kane. The couple helped many young people with financing their education and also contributed to research related to drug and alcohol addiction. The Kane Family Foundation also provides funding for more than 40 additional merit-based scholarships for CSU-Pueblo students.

“The funds come from the Kane’s trusts after they passed and was put into the foundation to see students pursue a higher education,” said Alicia Early, development officer for scholarships at CSU-Pueblo.

The Kane Family Foundation bases its selection on the students’ high school academic records, recommendations, a written essay and personal interviews.

“The students must have a 3.5 high school GPA, do well in their interviews and demonstrate high potential to succeed,” Early said.

The recipients of the 2009 Kane Scholarship are Josh Luna, Sarah Mutz, Jessica Hartman, Garrison Ortiz, Sendi Peregrino, Andrew Hawk, Courtney Linn and Morgan Purkey.

Luna from Pueblo Centennial High School is going to major in political science and minor in Spanish.

Mutz from Pueblo Central High School is going to pursue a degree as a doctor, nurse or medical technologist.

Hartman from Pueblo County High School will be majoring in mass communications and emphasizing in broadcast media.

Ortiz from Dolores Huerta Preparatory High School entering CSU-Pueblo with over 70 college credit hours from Pueblo Community College will be studying pre-medical.

Peregrino from Pueblo East High School is in pursuit of an MBA and doctoral degree.

Hawk from Pueblo Technical Academy is pursuing an engineering degree.

Linn from Pueblo West High School will be majoring in pre-veterinary curriculum.

Purkey from Pueblo South High School wants to get a bachelor’s and master’s degree in business.

“I have been in the interviews for all three years and it is great to see the types of students the Kane Scholarship is now attracting,” Zaletel said.

Five of the eight students selected rank among the top 10 of their graduating classes.

The students will be honored on May 15 in the Occhiato University Center’s Hearthwell Lounge. In attendance will be representatives of CSU-Pueblo, the 2007 and 2008 Kane Scholars, the high schools the recipients graduated from and representatives from the Kane Family Foundation.

“I am excited about it this year because we had hoped the Kane scholarship would attract students who care about our Pueblo community,” Zaletel said.

“Some of the students even strive to become doctors or lawyers here in Pueblo and want to give back to our community. Most of the students who received the scholarship were natives and the scholarship itself is increasing its reputation.”