Tyrell Smith wins Threlkeld prize for excellence


tyrellsmith.jpgThe 2008 CSU-Pueblo Achievement Day awards were held on April 13 at 12:30 in the OUC Ballroom.  The luncheon honored several students, but the biggest award, the Budge Threlkeld Prize, was given to senior automotive industry management major, Tyrell Smith.

The award was named in honor of the late Budge Threlkeld, a former administrator and professor of the university.

Smith was awarded the Threlkeld for his academic excellence and leadership roles at the university and in the community.  His name will appear permanently on a plaque in the University Library, and he will also receive a $5,000 cash award upon graduation and a personal plaque.

There are specific qualifications for being nominated for this prestigious award.  Nominees must be a graduating senior of the current academic year and have completed at least four semesters at CSU-Pueblo.  In addition, the student must have at least a 3.7 grade point average for three consecutive full-time semesters. 

The students are judged on their writing abilities, co-curricular activities as well as service to both the university and the community.  Several university leaders review all applications and the finalists are interviewed before the final decision is made.